AskPortfoliq suits
Self-managing landlords who want to handle everyday admin by message and keep repairs, tenants and compliance in one place.
Choose AskPortfoliq if you want to run your portfolio from WhatsApp or Telegram, with the assistant included on every plan. Choose Latch if you want a free plan for up to three lets or tenant referencing in the same app. Neither files Making Tax Digital updates today: Latch lists it as coming soon.
We make AskPortfoliq. Every fact about Latch comes from its own website, links to its source and was checked on .
AskPortfoliq suits
Self-managing landlords who want to handle everyday admin by message and keep repairs, tenants and compliance in one place.
Latch suits
Landlords with up to three lets who want a free web tool, and agents who need several users on one account.
Tell AskPortfoliq what happened in your own words, or send a photo or PDF. It does the data entry and the follow-up, in the same way on every channel, and nothing is saved or sent until you confirm.
You send: A photo of the new gas safety certificate for 12 Elm Road
AskPortfoliq: It reads the issue and expiry dates from the certificate and files it against the property's gas safety record.
You send: A photo of the plumber's invoice
AskPortfoliq: It logs the cost against the right property with the amount, supplier and date.
You send: "Ask my plumbers to quote for the leaking tap at Flat 2"
AskPortfoliq: It prepares the request to your own contractors, sends it when you confirm, and collects their replies for you to compare.
You send: "Has the rent for 8 Park Street come in?"
AskPortfoliq: It checks your records, tells you, and records the payment when you say it has arrived.
You send: A photo of the sofa in the living room
AskPortfoliq: It adds the item and its condition to the property's inventory.
You send: "Run an investment report on a 2-bed flat in M1 2AB for £180,000"
AskPortfoliq: It builds a report with yield, cashflow and local prices and rents.
Message AskPortfoliq to add a property, log a cost, file a certificate or check what is due, and confirm the change before it is saved. Latch's terms describe WhatsApp only as a channel for messaging tenants, on paid plans.
AskPortfoliq's assistant comes with every plan. Latch's assistant, Matt, needs the Pro plan at £20 a month plus VAT, or Enterprise.
Everything listed for AskPortfoliq on this page works now. Latch lists bank feeds, Making Tax Digital submission and its mobile apps as coming soon.
AskPortfoliq builds a report on a property you are considering, with yield, cashflow and local prices and rents, and shows the assumptions behind each figure. Latch offers a free calculator on its website, where you enter the figures yourself.
AskPortfoliq charges by property, adds no VAT and has no document limit. Latch's prices are plus VAT and count leases, so each HMO room let separately adds £1 a month once you pass your plan's allowance, and its Basic and Pro plans allow 20 and 1,000 documents.
Latch Basic is free for up to three active leases, with compliance tracking and rent reminder emails. AskPortfoliq has a free trial but no free plan.
Latch connects to Canopy for tenant referencing on paid plans, charged separately. AskPortfoliq does not do referencing.
Latch Pro allows up to two users on one account and Enterprise up to five.
"Partly" means the feature exists in a narrower form, explained in the cell.
Yes
Add a property, log a cost, file a certificate or check what is due by message on WhatsApp, Telegram or the web app.
Partly
Latch's terms describe WhatsApp as an optional channel for messaging tenants on paid plans. Running your portfolio from WhatsApp or Telegram is not stated publicly.
Source: Latch, Terms of serviceYes
Included on every plan, in the web app, WhatsApp and Telegram. It reads photos and PDFs of certificates, receipts and inventory items, answers questions from your records and prepares changes that are saved only once you confirm.
Partly
An AI assistant, Matt, on the Pro and Enterprise plans only. You approve its actions.
Source: Latch, Terms of serviceYes
Tenants report issues with photos. You contact your own contractors, compare replies and quotes, approve the work, arrange the visit and confirm with the tenant that it is fixed.
Yes
Tenants report issues with photos and you assign contractors. Posting jobs to its builder marketplace is on paid plans only.
Source: Latch, MaintenanceYes
Tenants report repairs, message you, view their inventory and handover documents, and request changes to their details.
Yes
Web portal for repair requests, direct messaging, renters insurance and viewings. App Store and Google Play apps are listed as coming soon.
Source: Latch, Terms of serviceYes
Gas safety, EICR, EPC, HMO licence, insurance, legionella, fire safety and more, each with its own reminder lead time.
Yes
Gas safety, EPC and EICR with reminders 60, 30 and 7 days before expiry, plus HMO licences and other certificates. Included on the free plan.
Source: Latch, ComplianceYes
Expected rent for every tenancy with paid, partial and overdue status, reminders to confirm rent has arrived and optional reminder emails to tenants.
Yes
Rent and expenses are recorded manually, with automatic rent reminder emails.
Source: Latch, FeaturesYes
Reports on properties you are considering, with yield, cashflow, local prices and rents, exportable as PDF.
Partly
A free rental yield calculator on its website, where you enter the figures. Analysis inside the app is not stated publicly.
Source: Latch, Rental yield calculatorYes
Mortgage terms per property, with reminders before a fixed-rate deal ends.
Yes
Mortgage details, rates and renewal dates per property, with renewal reminders.
Source: Latch, Property managementYes
Units within a property, each with its own tenancy, and HMO licence dates tracked with your other certificates.
Yes
Each room can be its own unit with its own lease and rent schedule, with HMO licence reminders.
Source: Latch, For HMO landlordsNo
Not offered. You confirm when rent arrives.
Coming soon
Bank feeds are listed as coming soon. Payments are recorded manually today.
Source: Latch, Bank feedsNo
Does not file Making Tax Digital updates. Export your records for your accountant or Making Tax Digital software.
Coming soon
Direct HMRC submission is listed as coming soon and not currently available.
Source: Latch, Subscriber termsNo
Not offered.
Yes
Through Canopy on paid plans, charged separately from the subscription.
Source: Latch, Subscriber termsNo
No free plan. A 7-day free trial.
Yes
Free Basic plan for up to 3 active leases, and a 30-day free trial of Pro or Enterprise.
Source: Latch, Free to use termsWeb app, WhatsApp and Telegram, with nothing to install.
Web. App Store and Google Play apps are listed as coming soon.
Source: Latch, PricingThe cheapest monthly plan for each portfolio. Some products charge per property and others per tenancy or lease, so the last row shows four HMOs with six rooms each let separately.
| Portfolio | AskPortfoliq | Latch |
|---|---|---|
| What you pay for | Per property. Rooms, tenancies, tenants and documents are unlimited on every plan. | Per lease, plus VAT: each room let separately in an HMO is a lease, and leases above the allowance cost £1 a month each. Documents: 20 on Basic, 1,000 on Pro. Users: 1, 2 or 5. |
| 1 propertySingle let | £12Starter | £0Basic |
| 3 propertiesSingle lets | £19Growth | £0Basic |
| 5 propertiesSingle lets | £19Growth | £20 + VATPro · £24 with VAT at 20% |
| 10 propertiesSingle lets | £39Portfolio | £22 + VATPro with 2 extra leases · £26.40 with VAT |
| 20 propertiesSingle lets | £39Portfolio | £32 + VATPro with 12 extra leases · £38.40 with VAT |
| 4 HMOs6 rooms each, let separately (24 lettings) | £19Growth | £36 + VATPro with 16 extra leases · £43.20 with VAT |
If you keep your properties and tenancies in a spreadsheet, or can export them from Latch, you can import the Excel or CSV file into AskPortfoliq and review every record before it is added. You can also add properties one at a time by message.
See AskPortfoliq plansFor one to three lets, yes: Latch Basic is free. If you want an AI assistant, Latch needs Pro at £20 a month plus VAT, while AskPortfoliq includes its assistant on every plan and adds no VAT. Latch also counts leases, so each HMO room let separately costs extra: four HMOs with six rooms each come to £36 a month plus VAT on Latch Pro.
Latch's terms describe WhatsApp as an optional channel for messaging tenants on paid plans. AskPortfoliq lets you run your whole portfolio by WhatsApp or Telegram message.
Not today. Latch lists direct HMRC submission as coming soon. AskPortfoliq does not file Making Tax Digital updates; you can export your records for your accountant or Making Tax Digital software.
Facts about Latch (USELATCH LTD) come only from its own website. If something here is out of date, email contact@askportfoliq.com and we will correct it.
Checked on
Start with a 7-day free trial.
Set up in minutes · Cancel anytime · AskPortfoliq included on every plan
We use analytics cookies to understand how visitors use Portfoliq, so we can improve it. See our Cookie Policy .