AskPortfoliq, August, LetBuddy, Latch compared on what self-managing landlords actually need: running the admin, repairs, compliance, tax and price. The right choice depends on which of those matters most to you.
We make AskPortfoliq. Every competitor fact on this page comes from that company's own website, links to its source and was checked on . Where a company does not say whether it offers something, we write "Not stated publicly".
The short answer
Best for running your portfolio by message
AskPortfoliq
Manage properties, tenancies, costs, repairs and compliance by message or photo from WhatsApp, Telegram or the web, with the assistant included on every plan. None of the other three says publicly that it offers this.
Tell AskPortfoliq what happened in your own words, or send a photo or PDF. It does the data entry and the follow-up, in the same way on every channel, and nothing is saved or sent until you confirm.
You send: A photo of the new gas safety certificate for 12 Elm Road
AskPortfoliq: It reads the issue and expiry dates from the certificate and files it against the property's gas safety record.
You send: A photo of the plumber's invoice
AskPortfoliq: It logs the cost against the right property with the amount, supplier and date.
You send: "Ask my plumbers to quote for the leaking tap at Flat 2"
AskPortfoliq: It prepares the request to your own contractors, sends it when you confirm, and collects their replies for you to compare.
You send: "Has the rent for 8 Park Street come in?"
AskPortfoliq: It checks your records, tells you, and records the payment when you say it has arrived.
You send: A photo of the sofa in the living room
AskPortfoliq: It adds the item and its condition to the property's inventory.
You send: "Run an investment report on a 2-bed flat in M1 2AB for £180,000"
AskPortfoliq: It builds a report with yield, cashflow and local prices and rents.
Feature comparison
"Partly" means the feature exists in a narrower form, explained in the cell. Prices and features were checked on .
Landlord software features compared
Feature
AskPortfoliq
August
LetBuddy
Latch
Run your portfolio from WhatsApp or Telegram
Yes
Add a property, log a cost, file a certificate or check what is due by message on WhatsApp, Telegram or the web app.
Not stated publicly
August uses its own in-app messaging, with email and SMS for tenants who have not installed the app.
Latch's terms describe WhatsApp as an optional channel for messaging tenants on paid plans. Running your portfolio from WhatsApp or Telegram is not stated publicly.
Included on every plan, in the web app, WhatsApp and Telegram. It reads photos and PDFs of certificates, receipts and inventory items, answers questions from your records and prepares changes that are saved only once you confirm.
Partly
Ask August answers questions about your portfolio from the Growth plan: 20 a month on Growth, 50 on Portfolio, unlimited on Portfolio+.
Tenants report issues with photos. You contact your own contractors, compare replies and quotes, approve the work, arrange the visit and confirm with the tenant that it is fixed.
Partly
Tenants report repairs with photos and you track progress. August says it does not do contractor job assignment or quote tracking.
Priority targets with chasers when a repair runs late. Find trades by postcode or use your own; they reply with a price, invoice or photos through a private link.
Latch's terms describe WhatsApp as an optional channel for messaging tenants on paid plans. Running your portfolio from WhatsApp or Telegram is not stated publicly.
Included on every plan, in the web app, WhatsApp and Telegram. It reads photos and PDFs of certificates, receipts and inventory items, answers questions from your records and prepares changes that are saved only once you confirm.
August
Partly
Ask August answers questions about your portfolio from the Growth plan: 20 a month on Growth, 50 on Portfolio, unlimited on Portfolio+.
Tenants report issues with photos. You contact your own contractors, compare replies and quotes, approve the work, arrange the visit and confirm with the tenant that it is fixed.
August
Partly
Tenants report repairs with photos and you track progress. August says it does not do contractor job assignment or quote tracking.
Priority targets with chasers when a repair runs late. Find trades by postcode or use your own; they reply with a price, invoice or photos through a private link.
The cheapest monthly plan for each portfolio. Some products charge per property and others per tenancy or lease, so the last row shows four HMOs with six rooms each let separately.
Monthly price for each portfolio
Portfolio
AskPortfoliq
August
LetBuddy
Latch
What you pay for
Per property. Rooms, tenancies, tenants and documents are unlimited on every plan.
Per tenancy: each room let separately in an HMO counts as one. Documents: 5 on Free, 100 on Growth, unlimited on Portfolio and Portfolio+.
Per property: an HMO counts once however many rooms it has. Unlimited documents and users.
Per lease, plus VAT: each room let separately in an HMO is a lease, and leases above the allowance cost £1 a month each. Documents: 20 on Basic, 1,000 on Pro. Users: 1, 2 or 5.
1 propertySingle let
£12Starter
£0Free
£0First property free
£0Basic
3 propertiesSingle lets
£19Growth
£8.99Growth
£10Per property
£0Basic
5 propertiesSingle lets
£19Growth
£8.99Growth
£18Per property
£20 + VATPro · £24 with VAT at 20%
10 propertiesSingle lets
£39Portfolio
£14.99Portfolio
£38Per property
£22 + VATPro with 2 extra leases · £26.40 with VAT
20 propertiesSingle lets
£39Portfolio
£14.99Portfolio
£50Capped from 15 properties
£32 + VATPro with 12 extra leases · £38.40 with VAT
4 HMOs6 rooms each, let separately (24 lettings)
£19Growth
£29.99Portfolio+ (Portfolio stops at 20 tenancies)
£14Per property
£36 + VATPro with 16 extra leases · £43.20 with VAT
AskPortfoliq £12, £19 or £39 a month, depending on the number of properties. Starter up to 2 properties, Growth up to 5 properties and Portfolio up to 20 properties. Every plan includes the same features, and no VAT is added. 7-day free trial.
August Free for up to 2 tenancies, then £8.99, £14.99 or £29.99 a month. Plan limits count tenancies, not properties, so each HMO room tenancy uses one. Annual billing: £89.99, £149.99 or £299.99 a year. August's subscriber terms say fees exclude VAT; its pricing page does not mention VAT. Source: Pricing for landlordsSource: Home page (annual prices)Source: Subscriber terms
LetBuddy First property free, then £5, £4 or £3 a property a month, capped at £50. Each price band applies only to the properties inside it. Annual billing: pay for 10 months instead of 12. VAT treatment is not stated. Source: Pricing
Latch Free for up to 3 leases, then Pro £20 or Enterprise £40 a month, plus VAT. Plans count leases, so each HMO room lease uses one. Extra leases cost £1 a month each. Matt and WhatsApp are on paid plans only. Annual billing: £192 or £384 a year. Source: Subscriber termsSource: Pricing
The four products
AskPortfoliq
Our product
Best for: Running your portfolio by message
Property management software for self-managing UK landlords, run from WhatsApp, Telegram or the web, with an assistant that prepares changes and saves them only once you confirm.
Price: £12, £19 or £39 a month, depending on the number of properties.
Property management and bookkeeping app for self-managing UK landlords and HMO operators, with open banking, Making Tax Digital filing and a free tenant app.
Price: Free for up to 2 tenancies, then £8.99, £14.99 or £29.99 a month.
Web-based landlord software for all four UK nations, priced per property with the first property free, covering compliance, rent, repairs and lettings.
Price: First property free, then £5, £4 or £3 a property a month, capped at £50.
AskPortfoliq. AskPortfoliq works from WhatsApp and Telegram as well as the web, and saves nothing until you confirm.
You use your own contractors for repairs
AskPortfoliq. AskPortfoliq contacts them, collects replies and quotes for you to compare, and arranges the visit. LetBuddy and Latch also coordinate trades.
You must file Making Tax Digital updates
August. August is recognised by HMRC for Making Tax Digital for Income Tax. Latch lists it as coming soon; LetBuddy and AskPortfoliq do not file.
You want rent matched from your bank
August. August connects read-only through open banking. The others ask you to confirm rent or import statements.
You have properties outside England
LetBuddy. LetBuddy sets rules per property for all four UK nations.
You have one to three lets and want to pay nothing
Latch. Latch Basic is free for three leases, August for two tenancies and LetBuddy for your first property.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best free landlord software in the UK?
It depends on your portfolio. Latch Basic is free for up to three active leases, August is free for up to two tenancies, and LetBuddy is free for your first property with every feature. AskPortfoliq has a free trial but no free plan.
Which landlord software files Making Tax Digital updates?
Of the four compared here, only August is recognised by HMRC for Making Tax Digital for Income Tax. Latch lists direct submission as coming soon. LetBuddy and AskPortfoliq do not file updates, but both let you take your records to an accountant or Making Tax Digital software.
Which landlord software is cheapest for HMOs?
Look at what the price counts. AskPortfoliq and LetBuddy charge per property, so an HMO counts once however many rooms it has. August counts tenancies and Latch counts leases, so each room let separately adds to the price. For four HMOs with six rooms each, LetBuddy and AskPortfoliq cost less than August or Latch.
Is there landlord software that works on WhatsApp?
AskPortfoliq lets you run your portfolio from WhatsApp or Telegram: add properties, log costs, file certificates and check what is due, confirming each change before it is saved. LetBuddy can open a pre-written message in your own WhatsApp, and Latch's terms describe WhatsApp as a channel for messaging tenants on paid plans.
Is this comparison independent?
No. We make AskPortfoliq. To keep the comparison fair, every competitor fact comes from that company's own website, links to the page it came from and shows the date we checked it. Where a company does not say whether it offers something, we write "Not stated publicly" rather than "No".
How we compared and sources
We compared each product on the same criteria using only its own public website: pricing pages, feature pages, help pages and terms. We did not use review sites or other companies' comparisons. Where a company's own pages disagreed, we used its terms.
We re-check every competitor at least every three months, and sooner when a company changes its prices. If something here is out of date, email contact@askportfoliq.com and we will correct it.